Skip to main content

Residency

Resident Students

A student will be considered a resident student if they 1) reside in Macomb County as of at least 60 days prior to the start of registration for the semester, or, 2) own real property in Macomb County (must provide current property tax information). Resident Students will be charged in-district resident rates.

Honorably discharged Veterans of the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, Coast Guard and National Guard, and their dependents, as well as eligible veterans and covered individuals as set forth in the Veterans Access, Choice and Accountability Act, 38 USC 3679, are considered to be resident students and will be charged in-district rates.

In-State Students

Students who do not fall within the definition of “Resident Students” who reside in Michigan as of at least 60 days prior to the start of registration for the semester will be charged in-state rates.

Out-of-State Students

Students who do not fall within the definition of “Resident Students” or “In-State Students” as of at least 60 days prior to the start of registration for the semester will be charged out-of-state rates.

Sponsored Students

Resident or in-state students enrolled under letters of understanding or agreement with approved third parties shall be charged no less than resident tuition rates for regular College offerings and no less than actual costs for "special" programs or courses developed to meet designated needs. Rates for this category of students will not be paid individually but will be billed to the third party under whose auspices such students are enrolled.

Affiliate Students

Affiliate students, non-county residents living in communities not served by a community college, or who are attending the College under terms of a formal agreement with another educational provider, may be charged a tuition rate less than that for non-county residents. Affiliate student status applies to those who live in (1) the portions of four Macomb County School Districts (Anchor Bay, Richmond, Armada, and Romeo) that fall outside an established community college district, and (2) the southern Lapeer County School Districts of Almont, Dryden, and Imlay City, with an established tuition rate in both cases. A copy of the property tax bill or a copy of the Michigan income tax form for the last fiscal year that reflects the school district in which the student, or parent/guardian if a dependent, reside.

Documentation of Residency

Students will be required to show evidence of residency at the time of each admission/readmission and when the College has reason to believe that the student is misrepresenting his/her residency.  Students who misrepresent their residency may be subject to disciplinary action by the College and shall be charged the tuition rate applicable to their actual residency. 

One or more of the following documents will be accepted to verify residency:

  • Valid Michigan driver’s license in student’s name (both sides must be submitted if license has been renewed or address changed)
  • Valid motor vehicle registration in student’s name (car insurance and car title not acceptable)
  • Utility bill in student’s name
  • Valid Michigan identification card in student’s name
  • Payroll stub with student’s name and address
  • Charge statement in student’s name and address
  • Closing statement in student’s name
  • New rental or lease agreement in student’s name
  • Current property tax receipt in student’s name (must be place of residence or property)
  • Military identification card (only for those assigned to Selfridge Air National Guard Base)
  • Notarized statement verifying residency signed by parent(s)if student is still in high school, accompanied by parent’s proof of residency or by current high school record (e.g., high school transcript or current report card in student’s name and address)

NOTE: Decisions regarding residency may be appealed to the Registrar who in consultation with the Vice President, Student Services, will review all appeals.

Approved by the Board of Trustees
Macomb Community College
December 15, 1970, Effective July 1, 1971
Revised June 16, 2015, Effective Fall Semester 2015