Skip to main content

Three Macomb Community College faculty members receive Excellence in Teaching Award

– Monday, May 20, 2013 1:00AM

Three Macomb Community College faculty members have received the Excellence in Teaching Award for 2013 from the National Institute for Staff & Organizational Development (NISOD).  Teresa Biegun, librarian, Sharon Kandt, court reporting instructor, and Edie Woods, psychology professor, were among the 950 community college faculty members nationwide to be recognized for their dedication to teaching.

To be eligible for the award, faculty members must submit an essay detailing their teaching philosophy and receive a recommendation from the dean in their academic area.  Nominations are then sent to NISOD, which is the outreach vehicle and service arm to the Community College Leadership Program based at the University of Texas.

Macomb College began participating in the NISOD award program in 1992.  Since then, 118 awards have been issued to Macomb faculty.

About Macomb Community College

Macomb Community College (  is one of the nation’s leading community colleges, providing learning experiences to nearly 48,000 students annually.  Macomb nationally ranks in the top two percent in the number of associate degrees awarded and as the largest grantor of associate degrees in Michigan.  The college’s comprehensive educational programming includes pre-collegiate experiences, university transfer and career preparation programs, bachelor degree completion and graduate degree programs, workforce training, professional education and certification, and continuing education and enrichment opportunities.

Media Contact: Tish Wirth, 586.445.7560,